english spanish italian

Save Ferris

Save Ferris is a ska punk band formed circa 1995 in Orange County, California. Their name is a reference to the 1986 film Ferris Bueller's Day Off.


Next Concert
2024-02-03 h: 20:00
Gothic Theatre
Denver, US

The Musical Biography of Save Ferris: A Journey Through his Legendary Career

Welcome music lovers, today we’ll take a journey through the fascinating music career of Save Ferris. They are one of the most iconic third-wave ska bands that came out of the '90s, and they had a tremendous impact on the genre. This band emerged from Southern California, and they quickly made waves with their signature sound that fused punk rock and ska. Save Ferris captured the hearts of many with their catchy beats, relatable lyrics, and a frontwoman’s soulful voice. From their infamous beginnings to their most notable albums and famous songs, we will cover it all!

Blog Body:

Save Ferris's story begins in Los Angeles in 1995. The band's founder and frontwoman, Monique Powell, drew inspiration from ska legends like The Mighty Mighty Bosstones and fused that sound with punk rock. She enlisted a group of talented musicians to create something new and distinctive. Their debut EP Introducing Save Ferris caught the attention of many music lovers worldwide, and by 1997, they had signed a record deal with Epic Records.

Their most celebrated album, It Means Everything, was released in 1998. Their single Come On Eileen became an instant hit and charted on popular radio stations. The album showcased Save Ferris' broad range of musical influences, with Pop punk and ska being the most notable ones. The album emphasizes how much the band had grown and matured and also gave fans an insight into Powell's emotions.

Save Ferris continued to make music until the early 2000s, and their legacy still lives on. They've released other albums, including Modified (1999) and Checkered Past (2017). However, none of the subsequent albums have been as impactful as It Means Everything. The band went on hiatus at one point, and Powell started a solo career, but the demand for the Save Ferris sound persisted, and they reunited in 2013.

Among their most famous songs is The World is New, Goodbye and Mistaken. The World is New has been popular in the ska punk scene for almost twenty years. It's an anthem of hope and a reminder that whatever we're going through, it gets better. The song showcases Powell's expressive voice and raw emotions.

Goodbye is another fan-favorite that has a mix of catchy beats and relatable lyrics. The song is about a toxic relationship that has come to an end. Powell's vocals hit differently on this track, as the song's emotions are heightened with the minor chord progressions.

Mistaken is a song about self-doubt and second-guessing, with the lyrics stating: I thought everything was fine; I didn't see the sign; Now I'm facing the damages; And I'm trying to find the line. The song became an instant hit when it was released in 1999 and showcases the band's ability to blend ska and punk in a perfect balance.

There you have it, a brief look at Save Ferris's remarkable music career and legacy. Save Ferris's creativity and innovative sound are a testament to the continued growth of the ska-punk genre. Their music has stood the test of time, precisely because they spoke to their listeners' real emotions and experiences. They continue to inspire new generations of music lovers, and their contribution to the music industry will never be forgotten. So the next time you want to listen to some excellent ska punk, remember to include Save Ferris in your playlist!
Tag: Save Ferris, musical biography, best songs, playlist
1 - Come On Eileen
2 - The World is New
3 - Nobody but Me
4 - Under 21
5 - Sorry My Friend
6 - Spam
7 - Everything I Want to Be
8 - Goodbye
9 - I Know
10 - Superspy
11 - Lies
12 - Little Differences
13 - Mistaken
14 - The Only Way To Be
15 - Turn It Up
16 - Your Friend
17 - Angry Situation
18 - I'm Not Cryin' For You
19 - Let Me In
20 - What You See Is What You Get
21 - No Love
22 - One More Try
23 - Holding On
24 - Anything
25 - For You
26 - You And Me
27 - New Sound
28 - Artificial Life
29 - Golden Silence
1999: Modified


2024-02-03 h: 20:00
Gothic Theatre
Denver, US
buy ticket
2024-02-17 h: 12:00
Marina Green
Los Angeles (LA), US
buy ticket